Odds and Ends


I’ve been keeping a few thoughts written down that aren’t quite worthy of complete entries here on the blog, so I thought I’d just share them as-is today before we head to location.

  • Reality shows that build out from an existing celebrity are seldom as interesting to me as a show that takes a person you don’t know and presents them in a way that makes them engaging, thus creating its own celebrity or celebrities.
  • Watching people spend money (insert closeup of cash register at boutique showing “$7654.34”) is boring.  What is the scene accomplishing?  Are you at least talking about something related to story?
  • Yes, I sometimes envy the people in front of the camera.  I don’t think they envy me, though.  It’s kind of a one-way-mirror thing.
  • Yes, I’m working on a second edition of the book, and no, I don’t know when I will be done… I haven’t even really talked to my publisher about it yet. There’s a lot more to be said about reality television beyond the story mechanics and basics in Reality TV.
  • I hate walkups and exits in scenes.  Very rarely is information imparted in them.  If a person is in a bar talking to someone, chances are they entered the bar at some point.
  • Sometimes when I watch a reality show and see the same people in the background during restaurant or street scenes over and over, I lose my temper a little and mutter: “This is why people think reality TV is fake.”
  • There is a difference between seeding a conversation and trying to turn your cast into actors.  “You might want to talk about what happened yesterday” is much different than, “Be sure to say that Carolyn stole your purse and that you think she’s a jerk and that you’re gonna gouge her eyes out with a fork when she shows up.”
  • Divine Intervention with Father Steve is pretty good for a show that probably has the  budget of a ham sandwich and a handshake.

 

2 thoughts on “Odds and Ends

Add yours

  1. Love this blog, Troy. You might want to think about calling the next book a sequel. Calling it a second edition encourages people to only buy that one, rather than needing to buy both. Look at what Blake Snyder milked out of “Save The Cat.”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

