Divorcing Basketball Wives: End of an Era (well, for me, anyway)


My fifth and final season of Basketball Wives makes its debut on VH1 on August 19th. Leaving a great franchise is tough, but it’s just time. To all my colleagues at Shed, VH1 and in the field, cast members and former bosses who have moved on to other opportunities as well — thank you for making the last three years a very special part of my life.

I started work on Basketball Wives in 2010, which is twenty-one years ago in television dog years.    The series spun off multiple seasons of Basketball Wives LA, and I even found myself working one season on the unrelated Baseball Wives, an unfortunate swing-and-miss with viewers.  All in all, between January of 2010 and my last day on Basketball Wives this May, I put 92 episodes of content behind me at Shed.  If you’d like to forget the bizarre one-off clip show, I’m cool with calling it 91… which is still a whole lot of show.

Along the way, Basketball Wives racked up some great numbers and topped the first-ever survey charting viewer engagement on social media platforms, using data from Twitter and Facebook — analyzing total comments, unique commenters and average followers per unique commenter.

The fun part was that we, the team in post, were fans of the show, too.  I can’t remember the last effort I worked on where everyone was so eager to read the field notes and follow what was happening in the field.

All in all, it was a fun ride.  I got to work with people like Nick Emmerson, Alex Demyanenko, Jen O’Connell and Pam Healey on the Shed side, and some great people at VH1.  Sean Rankine and his team always delivered in the field, and our post staff was among the best organized I’ve ever known — Lainee Fiorentino, Lindsay Ringwald and Bill Ostrander should have statues in their likeness cast for the lobby.  The story team in post?  Andrew Hoagland, Cary Krowne, Eduardo Penna, Regina Romain, Heather Miller, Christian Huber and Sarah Pavia positively crushed it. We had more great editors swing through those 92 episodes than I can name here without feeling like I’ll inadvertently miss someone.

I sincerely hope we’ll all meet again.

3 thoughts on “Divorcing Basketball Wives: End of an Era (well, for me, anyway)

Add yours

  1. I’m up for a few possible gigs in August. Right now, I just want to eat sandwiches, sleep, and work on new content. BBW was an amazing experience, but I need to take a breath before I jump back in the pool.

    1. Enjoy the R&R!

      And I’m just tossing it out there for consideration, but how would you feel about being involved in a “current events” reality TV show? 😉 If so, fire me an email.

      No pressure. Again, just tossing it out there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

