Pro Tip: Gear Questions… Help!


I’ve been asked about what gear field crews on top reality shows are using, and have to confess that I’ve been in post so long, I haven’t really stayed on top of it.

All of my sizzle reels and such are shot on the Canon XHA1 (link provided below will take you to new and used ones at Amazon.com) and edited in Final Cut Pro.  Most of the shows I’ve worked on are edited in Avid, though some shows do use Final Cut Pro (we used it on Flipping Out‘s first season). You can find Final Cut Pro and Avid software online.

Canon XH A1 1.67MP 3CCD High-Definition Camcorder with 20x Optical Zoom

Friends in the field — what are your favorite camera and audio packages? Let me know at realitytvtroy(at)gmail.com and I’ll compile them for a future post.

One thought on “Pro Tip: Gear Questions… Help!

Add yours

  1. Thanks for the equipment tip, Troy, quite generous of you. I’ve shot everything on a $35 Microsoft Live Cam so it’s time to upgrade, lol (hey, don’t judge, it makes me look tall and skinny!).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

